History of Essex Police Department

EPD - 1963x

There has been a Constable elected since the first meeting of the village residents in the 1800s.

  • 1895 - Mr. Gomo is listed a police officer. (History of the Town of Essex, Frank Bent).
  • 1896 - It is noted that the first officer’s were part-time and held other positions within the Village.
  • 1913 to 1915 - David Demag is listed as Chief of Police. Demag also worked for the Street department. Demag is paid for use of his horses and wagon. Frank Demag is listed as a part-time officer.
  • 1916 to 1917 - Ira Charboneau was Chief of Police. Charboneau also worked a second job as a janitor for the Fire Department. The first full-time police officer is hired.
  • 1918 to 1923 - EA. Martin is Chief of Police. Fred Demag was listed as an officer.
  • 1924 to 1926 - EA. Martin is Chief of Police with Bert Prescott listed a assistant Chief. Dewey Perry is listed as Officer.
  • 1927 to 1937 - James Flynn is listed as an officer.
  • 1938 to 1948 - C.T. McLeod is listed first as a night watchman and then as Chief.
  • 1949 - The police force consist of three full time officers, one of which is the Chief of Police.
  • 1950 - Douglas S Ervin is shown as Chief.
  • 1951 - Paul Booska is listed as an officer.
  • 1952 to 1957 - James A. Mulcahy, Chief of Police.
  • 1958 to 1960 - Martin A. Tibodeau, Chief of Police.
  • 1961 to 1967 - Dewey H. Perry, retired from the US Marshalls, Chief of Police.
  • 1968 to 1973 - James A. Mulcahy returns as Chief of Police.
  • 1974 to 1975 - Dominic J. Arena, Chief of Police.
  • 1976 to 1998 - Chief John Terry. Chief Terry worked his way up through the ranks to become Chief of the Village Police Department and continued on when the Town took over the Village Department in 1980. Chief Terry has held the office of Chief of Police longer than anyone to date.
  • 1980 - The Town of Essex takes over the Village of Essex Police Department and forms the new Town of Essex Police Department. Officers listed at this time include Chief John Terry, Cpt. Leo Nadeau, Lt. Robin Hollwedel,2006 Staff Photo Det. Todd McCabe and Det. Gary Taylor.
  • 1999 to 2000 Ex-VSP commander Robert A. Horton takes over as interim Chief.
  • 2001 to 2005 - David E. Demag, Chief of Police. Chief Demag comes from a family dedicated to police service. Chief Demag’s Great Grand Father, Chief David Demag was the Village of Essex’s first Chief of police in the early 1900s. Chief Demag served for years with the Burlington Police Department leaving as the Commander of the Criminal Division to become the Chief of Police in St. Albans. In 2001 Chief Demag left St. Albans Police Department to become the current Chief of Police in Essex.
  • October 2007 to March 2012 - Leo Nadeau, Chief of Police. Chief Nadeau was promoted to Chief from his position as Captain with the Essex Police Department.
  • March 2012 to January 2018 - Bradley Larose, Chief of Police. Chief Larose was promoted to Chief at the March 2012 Town Meeting from his position as Captain and Acting Chief with the Essex Police Department.
  • January 2018 to July 2020 Rick Garey, Chief of Police. Chief Garey was promoted to Chief from his position as Captain with the Essex Police Department.
  • July 2020 - Ron Hoague, Chief of Police. Chief Hoague was promoted to Chief from his position as Captain with the Essex Police Department.